Silverman: Elephant Steps - A Fearful Radio Show / Michael Tilson Thomas

Release Date: 4/16/2013
Label: Sony
Catalog Number: SONY49319
Number of Discs: 1

Physical Format:

In Stock
Notes and Editorial Reviews
Music by Stanley Silverman, libretto by Richard Foreman.

1 Elephant Drone; Elephants 3:01
2 Elephant Heartbeats 2:03
3 Don’t You Believe; My Ears 2:21
4 All Shook Up 1:33
5 Read My Palms; My Hands Are Inside the Wall; Gavotte 3:52
6 Read My Palm; Watch Me Move; I’m No Closer; Look at My Hands 6:33
7 Stop Seeing Reinhardt 5:23
8 Entr’acte; Watch Me Put My Right Foot 5:27
9 I Am No Longer Beautiful; Beautiful As Is 4:43
10 We Sit in the Window 4:13
11 Gypsy Tango; Shoot Them 3:31
12 You’re on the Radio; Radio Waves 3:34
13 Dreaming of Reinhardt 1:04
14 Midnight Sun 4:05
15 Photograph Song 1:29
16 Madrigals 2:50
17 Vaudeville Chase; Stirring Soup; A Strange Thing 4:32
18 Finale 4:35

Scrubwoman – Karen Altman
Hannah – Susan Belling
Max – Luther Enstad
Doctor – Roland Gagnon
Otto – Larry Marshall
Rock Singer – Luther Rix
Ragtime Lady – Marilyn Sokol
Hartman – PhilipSteele
Archangel – Michael Tilson Thomas

Chorus: Patti Austin, Jane Gunter, Dianne Higginbotham, June Magruder, Patricia Price, Albertine Robinson, Maeretha Stewart, Rose Taylor

Electronic music realized by Pril Smiley at the Columbia-Princeton Electronic Music Laboratory.
Works on This Recording
1. Elephant Steps by Stanley [Comp] Silverman
Performer: Larry Marshall (Voice), Patricia Price (Voice), Michael Tilson Thomas (Voice), Martin Sokol (Voice), Patti Austin (Voice), Luther Enstad (Voice), Jane Gunter (Voice), Karen Altman (Voice), Luther Rix (Voice), Maeretha Stewart (Soprano), June Higginbotham (Voice), Susan Belling (Voice), June Magruder (Voice), Philip Steele (Voice), Roland Gagnon (Voice), Albertine Robinson (Voice), Rose Taylor (Mezzo Soprano)
Period: 20th Century
Customer Reviews