Mozart: Così Fan Tutte / Harnoncourt, Gruberova, Ziegler, Stratas

Release Date: 5/9/2006
Catalog Number: B000637309
Number of Discs: 2

Physical Format:

$34.99 $31.99
Notes and Editorial Reviews
DVD Features Include
• Superb picture quality
• Improved audio and two surround sound options
(PCM Stereo/Dolby Digital 5.1/DTS 5.1)
• Additional content and bonus material
• Subtitles in multiple languages
• Region Code: 0 (worldwide)

Così fan tutte centers on a brotherly wager that tests the loyalty of two couples who had sworn eternal faithfulness.
• This sophisticated comedy, with extremely dark undercurrents, contains some of Mozart’s loveliest arias and the largest number of ensembles of any of his operas.
• Nikolaus Harnoncourt leads Edita Gruberova and the Vienna Philharmonic in Jean-Pierre Ponnelle’s 1988 staging of Mozart’s most controversial work.
• This spectacular new addition includes a bonus documentary about Jean-Pierre Ponnelle and the making of this now-historic production.

Works on This Recording
1. Così fan tutte, K 588 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Performer: Luis Lima (Tenor), Paolo Montarsolo (Bass), Ferruccio Furlanetto (Bass), Teresa Stratas (Soprano), Edita Gruberova (Soprano), Delores Ziegler (Mezzo Soprano)
Period: Classical
Written: 1790 ; Vienna, Austria
Customer Reviews