Follies / 2011 Broadway Cast

Release Date: 11/29/2011
Label: P.S. Classics
Catalog Number: 1105
Number of Discs: 2

Physical Format:

Low Stock
Works on This Recording
1. Follies by Stephen Sondheim
Performer: Ron Raines (Voice), Jan Maxwell (Voice), Elaine Paige (Voice), Danny Burstein (Voice), Bernadette Peters (Voice), Rosalind Elias (Mezzo Soprano)
Conductor: James Moore
Orchestra/Ensemble: Orchestra
Written: 1971 ;
Notes and Editorial Reviews
“A powerhouse! Thrilling and terrific, lavish and entirely satisfying!” –Variety

“Intoxicating! Sondheim's achingly introspective score ranks among the most sublime he's ever written. Blessed with some crackling performances, this production reasserts the Kennedy Center's claim to being a premier outlet for Sondheim's work.” –Washington Post

“A revival for the ages!” – Newsday

“The best Follies I've ever seen.” – Entertainment Weekly

““Makes you realize anew just why Follies is one of the greatest musicals ever written. The four stars give X-ray performances, in which lives past and souls divided can be seen clearly beneath the skin. Like Mr. Sondheim’s music, they make harmony out of the jangling contradictions that come with being alive.” –The New York Times

Composer-lyricist Stephen Sondheim and librettist James Goldman’s landmark 1971 musical returns to Broadway in a production The New York Times raved “[makes] you realize anew just why Follies is one of the greatest musicals ever written.” A bittersweet look at the follies of youth seen through the eyes of age and experience, this new production stars two-time Tony Award-winner Bernadette Peters as Sally Durant Plummer, four-time Tony Award-nominee Jan Maxwell as Phyllis Rogers Stone, two-time Tony Award-nominee Danny Burstein as Buddy Plummer, three-time Emmy Award-nominee Ron Raines as Benjamin Stone and four-time Olivier Award-nominee Elaine Paige as Carlotta Campion, under the direction of Eric Schaeffer. The cast of 41 is backed up by a 28-piece orchestra, conducted by James Moore. The Tony Award-winning score reveals the full range of Sondheim's brilliance, nimbly alternating between incisive, insightful book numbers (“Waiting for the Girls Upstairs,” “The Road You Didn’t Take” and “Could I Leave You”) and stunning pastiches of yesteryear (“Broadway Baby,” “Beautiful Girls” and “Losing My Mind”). Now, PS Classics and producer Tommy Krasker – who has helmed over a dozen Sondheim cast recordings – preserve this unparalleled work of genius in an expansive two-disc set, complete with 52-page full-color booklet with essay, synopsis, lyrics, production photos and a brief note from the album producer.


Disc One:
1 Prologue
2 Overture
3 "Welcome to our first - and last - reunion..."
4 Beautiful Girls
5 "You came; you’re really here..."
6 Don’t Look at Me
7 "I never get to talk..."
8 Waiting for the Girls Upstairs
9 Rain on the Roof
10 Ah, Paris!
11 Broadway Baby
12 The Road You Didn't Take
13 "Bargains, Buddy..."
14 In Buddy's Eyes
15 "Let's dish. Tell me everything..."
16 Who's That Woman?

Disc Two:
1 "I had a Follies number once..."
2 I'm Still Here
3 Too Many Mornings
4 The Right Girl
5 "Men are so sweet..."
6 One More Kiss
7 "According to statistics..."
8 Could I Leave You?
9 "You'll make a good wife, Phyl..."
10 Loveland
11 You're Gonna Love Tomorrow / Love Will See Us Through
12 The God-Why-Don't-You-Love-Me Blues
13 Losing My Mind
14 The Story of Lucy and Jessie
15 Live, Laugh, Love
16 Chaos
17 End of Show
Customer Reviews