Customer Reviews for: Sound the Trumpet / Alison Balsom, Trevor Pinnock, English Concert

9 Reviews in Total
5 Star: 9 Reviews
4 Star: 0 Reviews
3 Star: 0 Reviews
2 Star: 0 Reviews
1 Star: 0 Reviews

Average Review

5.0 Stars (9 Reviews)

Share your thoughts

CD:  $15.99
Back Order

 Now Showing: 5 Stars Only  |  See User Reviews by:  

 The Royal Ms. Balsom December 13, 2013
By Bevan Davies (Kennebunk, ME) -- See All My Reviews
Ms. Balsom is phenomenal here, easily switching between baroque and contemporary instruments. Very pleasurable. Report Abuse

 Great music June 19, 2013
By J D  Blatchford (Mill Valley, CA) -- See All My Reviews
I first heard this music on KDFC Report Abuse

 Nice! February 3, 2013
By Paul Burgess (Wheaton, IL) -- See All My Reviews
I liked this recording, and was tempted to buy it when I saw a video showing rehearsals and comments by the performers. I continue to be amazed at how Allison Balsom is able to get the sound she does from a "simple" trumpet. It was wonderful to see and hear the collaboration that she does with Trevor Pinnock and his concert. It would actually have been fun for this CD to have been a DVD, and have all the performances be videoed so that we could hear and see the collaboration going on! Report Abuse

 outstanding recording January 18, 2013
By james o. (portland, OR) -- See All My Reviews
One of my favorite new recordings lately. Outstanding technique and delightful performance highlight music that's great fun to listen to. I recommend this disc highly. Report Abuse

 Loved it!! January 1, 2013
By Duel R. (South Holland, IL) -- See All My Reviews
Outstanding musicality; good mix of offerings. Report Abuse

 Beauty is as Beauty does ... December 20, 2012
By Glenn S. (Puyallup, WA) -- See All My Reviews
Just from the samples alone that I listened to I know that this album will probably be put at the top of the list of my favorite trumpet albums. Her personal beauty is only exceeded by the beauty of her tone and her understanding and execution of Baroque performance practices. To paraphrase a famous line from a great poet, If music be the food of love, then play on Alison, play on ... Report Abuse

 an aural delight November 28, 2012
By C. Pryor (Campbell, CA) -- See All My Reviews
Miss Balsom is a wonder! She plays a valveless trumpet for this entire CD. And with Trevor Pinnock as a collaborator, this CD is a joy from beginning to end. Highly recommended! Report Abuse

 Balsom and her music collaborators shine November 20, 2012
By Arthur M. (Chicopee, MA) -- See All My Reviews
Superb from first note to last. Bolsom's playing is effortless but still deeply involved. The English Consort and Pinnock are committed and excited to be a part of this. The vocalists sing with the same level of skill and musical intelligence. I love this CD! Report Abuse

 Amazing trumpet playing and music making November 10, 2012
By Karl H Strieby (Winnipeg, MB) -- See All My Reviews
Speaking as a long-time professional horn player, I know exactly how challenging it is to play a natural (valveless) brass instrument. It takes a great ear, firm breath support, and an exceptionally strong embouchure. (Not to mention lots of practice!) I have and enjoy listening to many of Alison Balsom's previously released albums. "Sound the Trumpet" is truly a spectacular musical effort. I could not recommend it more highly. Report Abuse

 Now Showing: 5 Stars Only  |  See User Reviews by:  
The requested resource (/classical/copyright.html) is not available