WGBH Radio WGBH Radio theclassicalstation.org

The Complete Sidney Bechet Vol 1 & 2

Release Date: 02/14/2013 
Label:  Rca   Catalog #: 66498  
Composer:  Various
Performer:  Sidney Bechet
Number of Discs: 2 
Recorded in: Mono 
In Stock: Usually ships in 24 hours.  

Notes and Editorial Reviews

Track Listing

Disc 1:
1. Sweetie Dear
2. I Want You Tonight
3. I've Found a New Baby
4. Lay Your Racket
5. Maple Leaf Rag
6. Shag
7. Ja-Da
8. Really the Blues
9. When You and I Were Young, Maggie
10. Weary Blues
11. Indian Summer
12. One O'Clock Jump
13. Preachin' the Blues
14. Preachin' the Blues
15. Sidney's Blues
16. Sidney's Blues
17. Shake It and Break It

Disc 2:
1. Shake It and Break It
2. Old Man Blues
3. Old Man Blues
4. Wild Man Blues
5. Wild Man Blues
6. Nobody Knows the Way I Feel Dis Mornin'
7. Make Me a Pallet
Read more on the Floor
8. Shake It and Break It
9. Saint Louis Blues
10. Blues in Thirds
11. Blues For You, Johnny
12. Blues For You, Johnny
13. Ain't Misbehavin'
14. Ain't Misbehavin'
15. Save It, Pretty Mama
16. Stompy Jones
17. Muskrat Ramble
18. Coal Black Shine

Personnel includes: Sidney Bechet (vocals, soprano saxophone, clarinet), Rudolph Adler (tenor saxophone), Henry "Red" Allen, Tommy Ladnier (trumpet), Sandy Williams, Teddy Nixon (trombone), Mario Janarro, Sonny White, Henry "Hank" Duncan, Cliff Jackson, James Tolliver, Earl Hines (piano), Bernard Addison, Teddy Bunn (guitar), Wilson "Serious" Myers (bass, vocals), John Lindsay, Harry Patent, Elmer James, Wellman Braud (bass), Kenny Clarke, Morris Morand, J.C. Heard, Manzie Johnson (drums).

Recorded in New York between 1932-1940 and Chicago in 1940. Includes liner notes by Don Waterhouse.

This is part of RCA's Jazz Tribune series.

Of all the overlapping Bechet reissue series, this series of two-LP sets released by French RCA is easily the best, with all of the Victor sides by the great soprano-saxophonist and clarinetist (including the valuable alternate takes) being issued complete and in chronological order. The first two-fer is highlighted by the blazing session by The New Orleans Feetwarmers from 1932, four selections from the "Really the Blues" date with trumpeter Tommy Ladnier and clarinetist Mezz Mezzrow, and such Bechet classics as "Indian Summer," "Old Man Blues" and "Nobody Knows The Way I Feel 'Dis Mornin'." ~ Scott Yanow, AllMusic.com Read less

Works on This Recording

Work(s) by Various
Performer:  Sidney Bechet (Saxophone)

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review:  1 Customer Review )
 Not a complete Bechet February 19, 2013 By Henry R. (North Brunswick, NJ) See All My Reviews "I have not heard this record, but as long a collection purports to be complete, it should have Bechet's ballet La nuit est un sorciere. This 10" LP was a London International series (WV 91050). The orchestre symphonique was directed by Jacques Barzire with Sidney Bechet as soloist. There is no indication when the record was produced." Report Abuse
Review This Title