WGBH Radio WGBH Radio theclassicalstation.org

The Indispensable Count Basie

Release Date: 06/27/2011 
Label:  Rca   Catalog #: 66497  
Composer:  Count BasieVarious
Performer:  Count Basie
Conductor:  Count Basie
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Count Basie Orchestra
Number of Discs: 2 
Recorded in: Mono 
In Stock: Usually ships in 24 hours.  
On sale! $24.98
ArkivCD  $21.99
In Stock

This CD is reissued by ArkivMusic.

Notes and Editorial Reviews

Track Listing

Disc 1:
1. Bill's Mill
2. Brand New Wagon
3. One O'Clock Boogie
4. Futile Frustration
5. Swingin' the Blues
6. St. Louis Boogie
7. Basie's Basement
8. Backstage at Stuff's
9. My Buddy
10. Shine on Harvest Moon
11. Lopin'
12. I Never Knew
13. Sugar
14. Jungle King, The
15. I Ain't Mad at You
16. After You've Gone
17. House Rent Boogie
18. South

Disc 2:
1. Don't You Want a Man Like Me
2. Seventh Avenue Express
3. Sophisticated Swing
4. Guest in a Nest
5. Your Red Wagon
6. Money Is Honey
7. Just a Minute
Read more
8. Robbin's Nest
9. Hey Pretty Baby
10. Bye Bye Baby
11. Just an Old Manuscript
12. She's a Wine-O
13. Shoutin' Blues
14. Wonderful Thing
15. Mine Too
16. Walking Slow Behind You
17. Normania
18. Rat Race
19. Sweets

Personnel includes: Count Basie (piano, organ); Taps Miller, Jimmy Rushing (vocals); Preston Love, Rudy Rutherford, Charlie Price (alto saxophone); Buddy Tate, Paul Gonsalves (tenor saxophone); Jack Washington (baritone saxophone); Ed Lewis, Emmett Berry, Clark Terry, Snooky Young, Harry Edison (trumpet); Ted Donnelly, George Matthews, Eli Robinson, Bill Johnson, Dickie Wells, George Washington (trombone); Freddie Green (guitar); Rodney Richardson, Walter Page (bass); Shadow Wilson, Jo Jones (drums).

Recorded in Los Angeles, California; New York, New York; Chicago, Illinois between January 3, 1947 and February 2, 1950. Includes liner notes by Don Waterhouse.

This is part of RCA's Jazz Tribune series.

Read less

Works on This Recording

Work(s) by Count Basie
Performer:  Count Basie (Piano)
Conductor:  Count Basie
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Count Basie Orchestra
Work(s) by Various
Performer:  Count Basie (Piano)
Conductor:  Count Basie
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Count Basie Orchestra

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review this title
Review This Title
Review This Title Share on Facebook

Sign up now for two weeks of free access to the world's best classical music collection. Keep listening for only $19.95/month - thousands of classical albums for the price of one! Learn more about ArkivMusic Streaming
Already a subscriber? Sign In