Customer Reviews for: Bruckner: Symphony No 9 / Rattle, Berlin Philharmoniker

6 Reviews in Total
5 Star: 1 Review
4 Star: 3 Reviews
3 Star: 1 Review
2 Star: 1 Review
1 Star: 0 Reviews

Average Review

3.5 Stars (6 Reviews)

Share your thoughts

CD:  $17.99
In Stock

 Now Showing: Newest First  |  See User Reviews by:  

 ignore the BS August 9, 2013
By K. BAKER (HEBER CITY, UT) -- See All My Reviews
The lead review says, "There are many myths concerning Bruckner’s finales, not the least of which is that they are somehow “problematic”. Not true. After the Fourth Symphony, each is perfectly appropriate in its own way" This idiot has no understanding what soever of the structure of a Bruckner symphony. Celibidache pointed out decades ago that the key to Bruckner is understanding that the finale of a Bruckner symphony usually does not come at the end. Nor does it necessarily come at the end of any of movement. It often comes more or less in the middle of any of the four movements. The EMI incomplete set of Bruckner's symphonies by Celibidache / Munich Philharmonic is enlightening. Note that Celibidache takes almost 30 minutes longer for the 8th than does von Karajan. "The Gramophone" is currently open for voting for the "disk of the year". the Rattle 9th is a candidate for best orchestral CD. The Gramophone's review of the performance is spot on: with the added completed fourth movement, this recording stands with Bruno Walter's 1960 recording of the 3 complete Bruckner movements as the top choice. In the three movement 9th, Walter stands alone, and the recent Sony reissue has surprisingly good sound for its age (I listened to it five days ago, and I'm still humming it in my head, and how often have you ever gone away from a concert or recording humming Bruckner?). Admittedly, I have not yet heard the Rattle version, but I plan to buy it because the Gramophone review said that by adding the 4th movement, it rises to the Walter league, the one and only competition to Walter. BTW: in general, Barenboim (Teldec) is the top choice for Bruckner and the Naxos Tintner recordings (which include both # 0 and # 1) are well worth the price. Report Abuse

 Is it necessary? August 21, 2012
By JOHN A.  JOHNSON (LITTLE NECK, NY) -- See All My Reviews
The completion of the fourth movement is intersting, but it is for the most part not real Bruckner. As a Bruckner interpreter Rattle is not in the class as conductors such as Jochum, Knappertsbusch and von Karajan. I am glad to have the fourth movement, but I can live without it. Report Abuse

 Bruckner 9 - Rattle - Fourth mouvement August 7, 2012
By Rene Tinawi (St-Laurent, QC) -- See All My Reviews
I prefer the first three movements by Carlo-Maria Guilini or Gunter Wand where the emotion is very present. The only interesting part of this recording is the completed fourth mouvement of this ninth symphony. It is very Brucknerian well performed and worth the purchase. The rest of the record is quite ordinary and somewhat dissapointing. May be the chemistry between Rattle and Bruckner was not at its best during this live recording. René Tinawi Montreal Report Abuse

 A disappointment August 3, 2012
By Harold L. Geisse (Binghamton, NY) -- See All My Reviews
As so often, but by no means always, the sound in this live recording is muffled and dampened - why this happens I do not know, since some "live" recordings sound fine. The performance is a good one, but the added fourth movement is just plain feeble, and deserves to be forgotten ASAP. There are more satisfactory recordings of teh Bruckner 9th readily available. Report Abuse

 REVIEW OF RATTLE /BRUCKNER #9 (FOUR-MOVEMENT VERS June 19, 2012
By Catriel B. (Toronto, ON) -- See All My Reviews
I’ve listened to this CD a number of times, and there are three separate areas to be reviewed: the recording itself, the performance under Rattle, and the realization of the fourth movement. The recording itself is good. Not great: I have many CD’s that have a wider audio and dynamic spectrum. Everything is adequate, but not sonically spectacular. I must add that I have a very elabourate audio system with 32 speaking units in eight separate enclosures – I even hear page turns from the violins! And even without a sub-woofer it easily produces 16-foot bass notes. Given all this, the CD will sound very good on almost all other systems. The realization of the fourth movement is the real reason why I purchased this recording. It’s very well done, completely Bruckner in sound, orchestration, and melodic motives. I am not a Bruckner expert, but from my many years of listening to all his symphonies, this is echt (authentic) Bruckner. I highly recommend a short video done by Rattle where he explains the history of this completion: http://www.jpc.de/jpcng/SESSIONID/331aa2448e8a9f897b72042e7e51b0cd/classic/detail/-/art/Anton-Bruckner-1824-1896-Symphonie-Nr-9-4-s%E4tzige-Version/hnum/2571066 . I already have the complete Bruckner symphonies done by Eugen Jochum and the Dresden Staatskapelle – to my mind Bruckner IS Jochum; the sound may be a bit dated, but there are no finer performances. Jochum understands the architecture of Bruckner, and builds each movement accordingly. Jochum has the orchestra completely under his control; the Dresden Staatskapelle under him can stop on a dime, and the brass is absolutely unexcelled. And here the Rattle performance fails miserably. He totally misses outlining Bruckner’s architecture, and the performance becomes boring – especially when contrasted with Jochum. But worse – Rattle makes the scherzo sound like Shostakovich – and BAD Shostakovich! It is lumpy, hammering chords, formless, and purposeless. The other movements mirror this mire of sound. I cannot recommend this recording because of Rattle’s interpretation. If you want to hear the complete version of the fourth movement, that’s reason enough – but skip the first three movements. 19 June 2012 catriel@sympatico.ca Report Abuse

 See CD Review BBC3 radio for June 2, 2012 June 2, 2012
By d. hay (Mountain View, CA) -- See All My Reviews
This CD was reviewed during the last segment of BBC Radio 3 CD review for June 2, 1012. The Review was very favorable, and the provenance of the version featured on this CD--the reconstruction of the final movement--was explained in some detail. Report Abuse

 Now Showing: Newest First  |  See User Reviews by:  
The requested resource (/classical/copyright.html) is not available