Customer Reviews for: Mozart: Complete Piano Concertos / Perahia

21 Reviews in Total
5 Star: 20 Reviews
4 Star: 1 Review
3 Star: 1 Review
2 Star: 0 Reviews
1 Star: 0 Reviews

Average Review

5.0 Stars (21 Reviews)

Share your thoughts

On sale!
CD:  $32.99
In Stock

 Now Showing: Newest First  |  See User Reviews by:  
2  Next   

 impressive collection April 6, 2014
By D. McArthur (Gretna, LA) -- See All My Reviews
One review that I read expressed dissatisfaction with the sameness throughout this set. Yes, there is a sameness! The same great pianist, the same great ensemble and the same all-time great composer! Here we have an impessive collection in fine sound in which we can follow the development of Mozart and the piano concerto. What fun, and at a bargain price! Report Abuse

 A superlative set March 28, 2014
By J. Graham (Lansing, MI) -- See All My Reviews
This is an extraordinarily fine set of the Mozart piano concertos, at a rock-bottom price. What impresses me most about these performances is their "rightness"--without calling attention to himself, without flash or eccentricity, Perahia simply presents the music in a natural way that makes you think, "Yes, this is how it should go." Unfortunately, there are no notes on the music, but the sound is excellent, even for some performances 20 years old. Report Abuse

 The best! January 21, 2014
By David J. (Los Angeles, CA) -- See All My Reviews
All of the finest Mozart piano concerts in one place. A must for any collection. Report Abuse

 Excellent Collection! December 6, 2013
By Charles R. Babin (Fredericton, NB) -- See All My Reviews
This is an excellent collection! This is Murray Perahia and The English Chamber Orchestra at their best. Perahia has a big smile on the cover photo and you'll be smiling too every time you play one of these concerti! Report Abuse

 very good altho not thrilling October 26, 2013
By robert freeman chadis (Long Beach, CA) -- See All My Reviews
solid intelligent forceful satisfying...convenient basic collection. Report Abuse

 Good Value September 24, 2013
By D. Naito (Las Vegas, NV) -- See All My Reviews
Affordable and good recording. Very enjoyable. Report Abuse

 Best Complete Mozart Available September 12, 2013
By arthur i. (alexandria, VA) -- See All My Reviews
This has a rosette rating in the Penguin Guide to Classical Music and it is well deserved. I have other CDs of Mozart's piano concertos and none of them provide an insight into what Mozart was trying to relay in these masterpieces like the playing of Perahia accompanied by sublime performances by the ECO. This set is an absolute must for any classical library. Report Abuse

 EXCELLENT IN EVERY WAY January 9, 2013
By Diane  K. (Woodridge, IL) -- See All My Reviews
Great acustic balance, terrific performance, wonderful throughout. Report Abuse

 Perahia/Mozaart piano concertos January 6, 2013
By Nina Spiegel (Lauderhill, FL) -- See All My Reviews
Murray Perahia's interpretations of the Mozart piano concertos are not only brilliant, but the sonority, the musicianship, the clarity and the technical skills unite in making these performances exceed other recordings of these concerti by other artists. Report Abuse

 Luscious January 1, 2013
By John M Rathbun (Mills River, NC) -- See All My Reviews
I haven't had time to listen to all these concerti, but judging by the first three disks I will definitely find time in the near future. There's more loveable Mozart in the early years than I expected, the sound is good to excellent, and the playing idiomatic, sweet, and accurate. Report Abuse

 Top Notch Performances October 10, 2012
By M. Bishop (Clackamas, OR) -- See All My Reviews
Murray Perahia out performs himself on the piano in these recordings. The listener encounters Mozart's art of conception in the musical score and Perahia's art of excellent interpretation in each of the piano concertos. The music fluently moves from single fingered passages to an explosion of musical tapestry, all in perfect synchonization with the ECO. The nimble-fingered impressions are lasting, and I consider Perahia's deftly turned musical phasings to be both artful and elegant. This is an excellent purchase, revealing top-notch performances by both Perahia and the ECO. Report Abuse

 Very positive October 1, 2012
By Theodore Lewis (Germantown, MD) -- See All My Reviews
I was delighted by this recording. Perahia plays Mozart the way I like to hear him Report Abuse

 Amazing Bargain October 1, 2012
By Allan Yee (Edmonton, AB) -- See All My Reviews
The Perahia cycle of the Mozart piano concertos has always been my touchstone set of this repetoire. I started collecting them on LP decades ago and then switched over to the individual CD releases when they came out on that format. While I may prefer others (Kovacevich, Curzon, Haskil, etc.) in certain concertos, this is, for my money, the best overall set available from a single pianist. The only downside to the box is the lack of documentation, but for the price, who can really complain? Report Abuse

 Lyrical clarity September 15, 2012
By Claudette L. (Hampstead, NH) -- See All My Reviews
Beautiful and exciting recording of the Concerti. Glad to finally have a complete enjoyable set. Cadenzas are beautifully done. Phrasings are melodic throughout. Exciting in the faster movements! I own a Bose audio system, and it is wonderful to hear all the nuances in Perahia's performance. Report Abuse

 One of the best September 11, 2012
By Simon H. Rook (Saltspring Island, BC) -- See All My Reviews
I have always been on the lookout for one of the really great performances of the Mozart Piano Concertos: Uchida, Baremboim, Perahia. When this one came up on sale I grabbed it and have not regretted it. As always Perahia's playing is immaculate but still full of emotion. He seems to understand the underlaying message of each movement of each concerto. The balance of piano and orchestra is very good and one can clearly hear all the instrumentation. If you haven't got this, you won't regret buying it. Report Abuse

 Beautifully played Mozart at an amazing price September 9, 2012
By L. Majors (Bartlesville, OK) -- See All My Reviews
These performances of the Mozart Piano Concertos are truly outstanding; and even though some of these recordings are 30+ years old the quality of the recordings are first rate. A truly outstanding value for any lover of the Mozart Piano Concertos. Report Abuse

 Amazing Deal For Wonderful Music September 5, 2012
By RONALD  DAVIES (Takoma Park, MD) -- See All My Reviews
Murray Perahia playing Mozart? 12 CD’s for $32? I couldn’t believe it. All his wonderful sensitivity and flair for the music in all its glory. And for me an introduction to many of the early concerti you rarely hear, as well as definitive readings of many of the familiar works.

If you love Mozart piano concerti this is a true treasure--and an absolutely incredible deal.
Report Abuse

 A Fantastic Collection. September 4, 2012
By m. jefferson (birmingham, AL) -- See All My Reviews
I purchased this complete box set of W.A. Mozart's Piano Concerti almost a month ago and it is truly a fantastic collection, with Murray Perahia and the English Chamber Orchestra. This set originates from the 1980's, and a few were recorded at the Aldebrough Music Festival back in June, 1988, at Snape Malting's Auditorium. The sound is very good; excellent, in fact, but do let me point out that as of this review, I have been able to listen to only the first ten concertoes. Regardless, I would very strongly recommend this set to anyone who loves piano music, and especially one who is searching for a complete collection of Herr Mozart's piano concertoes. It is a very good collection, indeed. Report Abuse

 Murray Perahia Owns Mozart September 4, 2012
By Victor Crick (Ladysmith, BC) -- See All My Reviews
I gave this recording five stars even though there are one or two slight hesitations in the sound on some discs. This did not sully my pleasure, however. The sound was luminous and, of course, the music was flawlessly performed by Mr. Perahia. This was an outstanding performance and an excellent purchase. Report Abuse

 Now Showing: Newest First  |  See User Reviews by:  
2  Next   
The requested resource (/classical/copyright.html) is not available