Customer Reviews for: Beethoven: Symphonies No 5 & 7 / Kleiber, Vienna Philharmonic

8 Reviews in Total
5 Star: 8 Reviews
4 Star: 0 Reviews
3 Star: 0 Reviews
2 Star: 0 Reviews
1 Star: 0 Reviews

Average Review

5.0 Stars (8 Reviews)

Share your thoughts

CD:  $12.99
In Stock

 Now Showing: Newest First  |  See User Reviews by:  

 Revival January 25, 2014
By robin  d. (Cremorne, NSW) -- See All My Reviews
How lucky are we to be able to go back to these Outstanding recordings & to be able to compare each of them with other versions. Total control over the or orchestra & having the experience of seeing some of these people & able to attend recent concerts & then to be able to compare is such a delight. Report Abuse

 Great Music - poor shipping January 2, 2014
By Michael Kennedy (Cincinnati, OH) -- See All My Reviews
I heard this music on our local public radio station and loved other versions of this composer's work, but this version beat them all. However, I liked this CD so much I wanted, and did, pay extra to have the CD shipped to me in two days...it actually ended up taking five days! So, I'm wondering why did I pay extra for faster service and was made to wait? Report Abuse

 Carlos Kleiber January 5, 2013
By Ralph Cavaliere (No. Massapequa, NY) -- See All My Reviews
I have both symphonies conducted by an assortment of great maestri and orchestras, including Toscanini with the NBC. Great recording and it rates with the best of them. Report Abuse

 still the standard January 4, 2013
By A. Miller (Dix Hills, NY) -- See All My Reviews
A college classmate reviewed 13 LP's in 1974 and picked this one as the best 7th. He wasn't alone in his analysis and it still has stood the test of time. I passed this recording along to my 14 year old son... He is hooked!!! .I sure there are some more current performances that I haven't heard that will measure up...but this is a classic performance that is incredible. Report Abuse

 Beethovan as good as it gets December 5, 2012
By K. BAKER (HEBER CITY, UT) -- See All My Reviews
Great performances by the greatest conductor of all time. But perhaps you have never heard of Carlos Kleiber. Here's a quick bio. In his first year as conductor of the NY Philharmonic, Bernstein conducted 116 concerts. In his ENTIRE carrier, Kleiber conducted 90 concerts. Yet a BBC poll of 100 leading conductors that asked, 'who was the greatest conductor of all time'?, Bernstein came in second to #1 Carlos Kleiber. Carlos was born Karl, son of the noted Austrian conductor Eric Kleiber and his Jewish wife, necessitating a family move to Argentina when Hitler come into power, leading Karl to de-Germanize his name to Carlos. The Penguin guide awarded the coveted Rosette to Kleiber's 5th, but I think the 7th is even better. Report Abuse

 A Treasured CD October 23, 2012
By Kenneth G. (Grand Rapids, MI) -- See All My Reviews
I'm just a good listener but one who greatly appreciates not only an outstanding performance, but also hearing a Beethoven symphony as created by the composer. This recording has the repeats in the final movement of the 5th and the 1st movement of the 7th. If Beethoven is truely one of the great composers why are abridgements made to make CDs and DVDs without the repeats??? Report Abuse

 Essential August 4, 2012
By W. Brown (Centerburg, OH) -- See All My Reviews
This is an essential recording- no questions asked. Simply the best 5th symphony out there. The opening movement is like none other. Kleiber knows how to stretch phrases and "pull a punch" with the Vienna Philharmonic. Anyone familiar with this symphony must own this recording. It is a benchmark in which all other recordings of the symphony are judged. If you don't own this one, go out and grab a copy!! Report Abuse

 Fantastic May 16, 2012
By William Schneider (Yaphank, NY) -- See All My Reviews
This is the most alive and exciting rendition of the masters 5th.that I have ever heard.It grabs you and shakes you hard.You must listen,you can not relax your mind as the music comes at you like a tsunami.A lot of hyperbole,I know,but I think it is by far the best 5th ever. Report Abuse

 Now Showing: Newest First  |  See User Reviews by:  
The requested resource (/classical/copyright.html) is not available