WGBH Radio WGBH Radio theclassicalstation.org

Jerome Kern: Land Where The Good Songs Go - A New Revue

Jerome Kern
Release Date: 12/11/2012 
Label:  P.s. Classics   Catalog #: 1211  
Composer:  Jerome Kern
Performer:  Matthew ScottPhilip ChaffinHeidi BlickenstaffKate Baldwin,   ... 
Conductor:  David Loud
Number of Discs: 2 
Recorded in: Stereo 
Low Stock: Currently 3 or fewer in stock. Usually ships in 24 hours, unless stock becomes depleted.  
On sale! $20.97
CD:  $17.99
Low Stock

Notes and Editorial Reviews

Using the astonishingly fresh music of Jerome Kern and the lyrics of over a dozen of his collaborators, including Oscar Hammerstein II, Dorothy Fields, and P.G. Wodehouse, The Land Where Good Songs Go weaves the stories of three couples into a theatrical song cycle that sparkles with wit, tenderness, and warmth. A cast of top Broadway talents -- Kate Baldwin, Heidi Blickstenstaff, Rebecca Luker, Philip Chaffin, Graham Rowat and Matthew Scott -- offer delectable renditions of over 30 Kern songs, for which music director David Loud provides brand new vocal arrangements and orchestrations: standards such as "A Fine Romance", "Long Ago (and Far Away)" "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes," and "The Way You Look Read more Tonight," as well as forgotten tunes like "An Irish Husband," "Bill's a Liar," "We're Crooks," "The Subway Express," "Ain't It Funny...?" and "Never Marry a Girl."


CD 1
1 The Land Where the Good Songs Go
2 The Subway Express
3 Ain't It Funny What a Difference Just a Few Drinks Make?
4 (I'm Looking for) an Irish Husband
5 Never Marry a Girl with Cold Feet
6 Rolled Into One
7 How'D You Like to Spoon with Me?
8 They Didn't Believe Me
9 Nesting Time in Flatbush
10 Let's Begin
11 Nobody Else But Me
12 Heaven in My Arms/Dancing Time
13 I've Taken Such a Fancy to You
14 We're Crooks

CD 2
1 Now That We Are One
2 A Fine Romance
3 The Way You Look Tonight
4 The Last Time I Saw Paris
5 My Boy
6 In the Heart of the Dark/Just Let Me Look at You
7 Go, Little Boat
8 All the Things You Are
9 April Fooled Me
10 Bill
11 Bill's a Liar
12 Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
13 Till the Clouds Roll by/Look for the Silver Lining
14 Long Ago (and Far Away) Read less

Works on This Recording

The Land Where the Good Songs Go [revue] by Jerome Kern
Performer:  Matthew Scott (Voice), Philip Chaffin (Voice), Heidi Blickenstaff (Voice),
Kate Baldwin (Voice), Rebecca Luker (Voice), Graham Rowat (Voice)
Conductor:  David Loud

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review this title
Review This Title