WGBH Radio WGBH Radio theclassicalstation.org

Gilardino: 20 Studi Facili / Cristiano Porqueddu

Release Date: 08/28/2012 
Label:  Brilliant Classics   Catalog #: 9285   Spars Code: DDD 
Composer:  Angelo Gilardino
Performer:  Cristiano Porqueddu
Number of Discs: 1 
Recorded in: Stereo 
In Stock: Usually ships in 24 hours.  

Notes and Editorial Reviews

Angelo Gilardino (b.1941) is a guitarist and composer who has done much to expand the contemporary repertoire of the classical guitar. Concertos, sonatas and variation sets all testify to a bright and airily melodic style and a series of studies of varying degrees of difficulty and virtuosity show Gilardino's commitment to the generations of performers below him.

This particular set of 20 'easy studies' is aimed at the young or at least new student: it covers any number of technical challenges such as tenuto, legato, staccato and marcato playing styles, but it does so in a way that makes learning never less than fun and worth pursuing, since the pieces have a worth beyond the mastering of their particular
Read more challenges.

Cristiano Porqueddu has made several recordings for Brilliant Classics, among them a 5CD set of Gilardino's studies for more advanced guitarists. Next on the menu for this fine young Sardinian guitarist is a 5CD set of 19th-century guitar preludes, slated for release at the end of 2012: watch this space.

Other information:
- New recording, Recorded in 2012, Nuoro, Italy.
- This CD presents the complete "20 Studi Facili" , studies on a more modest scale, but offering attractive and colourful music in the form of a technical exercise for training a certain facet of guitar technique. A must for every guitar player (whether amateur or professional) and for adventurous music lovers in general.
- The issue of Gilardino's Transcendental Studies for Guitar, by Cristiano Porqueddu created quite a stir; many excellent reviews praised both music and performer.
- The English and Italian liner notes provide a short introduction to every individual study. Read less

Works on This Recording

Studi facili (20) for Guitar by Angelo Gilardino
Performer:  Cristiano Porqueddu (Guitar)

Sound Samples

20 Studi Facili: No. 1. Stendardo
20 Studi Facili: No. 2. Nuvole
20 Studi Facili: No. 3. Sera
20 Studi Facili: No. 4. Gloria
20 Studi Facili: No. 5. Scolastica
20 Studi Facili: No. 6. Notte
20 Studi Facili: No. 7. Saturno
20 Studi Facili: No. 8. Papillon
20 Studi Facili: No. 9. Fontanella
20 Studi Facili: No. 10. Domande
20 Studi Facili: No. 11. Unruhe
20 Studi Facili: No. 12. Tropicale
20 Studi Facili: No. 13. Tombeau
20 Studi Facili: No. 14. Burlesca
20 Studi Facili: No. 15. Pastorale
20 Studi Facili: No. 16. Escheriana
20 Studi Facili: No. 17. Tzigane
20 Studi Facili: No. 18. Zivago
20 Studi Facili: No. 19. Ghirlanda
20 Studi Facili: No. 20. Ventanas

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review this title
Review This Title