WGBH Radio WGBH Radio theclassicalstation.org

Cab Calloway & Co

Release Date: 10/18/2013 
Label:  Rca   Catalog #: 66496  
Composer:  Various
Performer:  Cab Calloway
Conductor:  Cab Calloway
Number of Discs: 2 
Recorded in: Mono 
In Stock: Usually ships in 24 hours.  
On sale! $29.98
ArkivCD  $24.99
In Stock

This CD is reissued by ArkivMusic.

Notes and Editorial Reviews

This is a very appealing double album from French RCA's Jazz Tribune series. The first 22 of the 34 selections (including four rare alternate takes) feature the Cab Calloway Orchestra of 1933-1934, a vastly underrated early swing band which, in addition to its colorful leader/singer, features good soloists in trumpeter Lammar Wright, clarinetist Eddie Barefield, and tenor saxophonist Walter "Foots" Thomas. Highlights include "Harlem Hospitality," "The Lady with the Fan," "Harlem Camp Meeting," "Kickin' the Gong Around," "Margie," and two remakes of "Minnie the Moocher." In addition, this two-fer (which has all of Calloway's recordings for Victor) contains four Read more long-forgotten items from 1949, including a hilarious version of "I Beeped When I Shoulda Bopped" (in which Calloway satirizes not only bebop but his own style), six numbers from his older sister Blanche Calloway in 1931 (highlighted by "I Need Lovin'"), and two obscure items from singer Billy Banks in 1932. This album, (which contains over 100 minutes of high-quality and entertaining music) is well worth searching for.

-- Scott Yanow, AllMusic.com


Personnel includes: Cab Calloway (vocals), Arville Harris (alto saxophone, clarinet), Eddie Barefield (alto & baritone saxophone, clarinet), Andrew Brown (alto & bass saxophone, clarinet), Walter Thomas (tenor saxophone, flute, clarinet), Lammar Wright, Jonah Jones, Adolphus "Doc" Cheatham, Edwin Swayzee (trumpet), De Priest Wheeler, John Ewing, Harry White (trombone), Bennie Payne (cello, piano), Edgar Hayes (piano), Al Morgan, Milton Hinton (bass), Leroy Maxey, O'Neil Spencer, Ben Thigpen (drums).

Recorded in Chicago, Illinois, Camden, New Jersey and New York between 1931 and 1949. Includes liner notes by Don Waterhouse.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
1. Evenin'
2. Harlem Hospitality
3. Lady with the Fan, The
4. Harlem Camp Meeting
5. Zaz, Zuh, Zaz
6. Father's Got His Glasses On
7. Minnie the Moocher
8. Minnie the Moocher
9. Scat Song, The
10. Scat Song, The
11. Kickin' the Gong Around
12. There's a Cabin in the Cotton
13. I Learned About Love from Her
14. I Learned About Love from Her
15. Little Town Gal
16. Long About Midnight

Disc 2:
1. Moon Glow
2. Jitterbug
3. Jitterbug
4. Hotcha Razz-Ma-Tazz
5. Margie
6. Emaline
7. Ol' Joe Louis
8. Your Voice
9. Rooming House Boogie
10. I Beeped When I Shoulda Bopped
11. I Need Lovin'
12. Just a Crazy Song (Hi-Hi-Hi)
13. It Looks Like Susie
14. Growlin' Dan
15. Concentratin' on You
16. Last Dollar
17. Scat Song, The
18. Oh! You Sweet Thing Read less

Works on This Recording

Work(s) by Various
Performer:  Cab Calloway (Voice)
Conductor:  Cab Calloway

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review this title
Review This Title