WGBH Radio WGBH Radio theclassicalstation.org

Complete Songs Of Robert Burns Box Set

Release Date: 01/01/2007 
Label:  Linn Records   Catalog #: 289  
Composer:  Robert Burns
Performer:  Wendy WeatherbyJames MalcolmIan BruceMick West,   ... 
Number of Discs: 13 
Recorded in: Stereo 
This title is currently unavailable.

Notes and Editorial Reviews

?Hauntingly authentic performances.? BBC Music Magazine ?Poured forth in melody as clear and true as a Highland stream.? Daily Mail Re-issued in to coincide with the worldwide Burns Night celebrations on 25th January 2007, this marvellous collection has been attractively re-packaged in a desirable lightweight case with updated artwork and a fresh new feel. The new-look boxed set includes a handy booklet complete with track listings and album information. Originally released early in 2003, the groundbreaking series took seven years to complete and involved over 80 singers and instrumentalists. It remains the definitive collection of Robert Burns?s song and the timeless poetry of Burns is brought vividly to life in this unique 12-volume CD Read more archive. Encompassing love songs and bawdy songs (note the explicit lyrics warning on volume 11), patriotic and political anthems as well as songs about Scottish places and people, this collection of songs touches on all aspects of human nature and is a true representation of a vigorous folk tradition past and present. There are over 360 songs to enjoy including: Auld Lang Syne, My Luve?s Like a Red, Red Rose, Sweet Afton, Ay Waukin O, Scots Wha Hae, Mary Queen of Scots Lament, In Edinburgh Town, My heart?s in the Highlands and Ae fond Kiss. Featured musicians include members of Battlefield Band, The Cast, The Corries, Deaf Shepherd, MacAlias, Malinky, Old Blind Dogs and many more. "A remarkable and monumental achievement, comparable ? in traditional music terms - to the painting of the Sistine Chapel ceiling or the King James VI translation of the Bible. A copy of Linn's box set should be in every school and library in the land." Sunday Herald

The Complete Robert Burns Collection - All 12 volumes in a box set

Volume 1 - 23 tracks including Sweet Afton and Duncan Gray
Volume 2 - 28 tracks including Ye Jacobites By Name and Scots Wha Hae
Volume 3 - 26 tracks including Auld Lang Syne and Comin thro' The Rye
Volume 4 - 22 tracks including My Luve's Like a Red, Red Rose and O Lay Thy Loof
Volume 5 - 22 tracks including A Man's A Man For A' That
Volume 6 - 21 tracks including Awa, Whigs, Awa!
Volume 7 - 20 tracks including Charlie, He's My Darling
Volume 8 - 25 tracks including Ae Fond Kiss
Volume 9 - 21 tracks including Corn Rigs Are Bonie
Volume 10 - 22 tracks including Yon wild mossy mountains
Volume 11 - 47 tracks including As I cam down by Annan side
Volume 12 - 32 tracks including I am a bard

Read less

Works on This Recording

Work(s) by Robert Burns
Performer:  Wendy Weatherby (Voice), James Malcolm (Voice), Ian Bruce (Voice),
Mick West (Voice), Ronnie Browne (Voice), Christine Kydd (Voice),
Tony Cuffe (Voice), Rod Paterson (Voice), Janet Russell (Voice),
Billy Ross (Voice), Ian F. Benzie (Voice), Alan Reid (Voice),
Jamie McMenemy (Voice), Leslie Hale (Voice), Corrina Hewat (Voice),
Davy Steele (Voice), Elspeth Cowie (Voice)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review this title
Review This Title