WGBH Radio WGBH Radio theclassicalstation.org

Babel - Best Of Hughes De Courson

Release Date: 08/05/2008 
Label:  Erato   Catalog #: 19034   Spars Code: n/a 
Composer:  Wolfgang Amadeus MozartHughes De CoursonAlessandro ScarlattiAnonymous,   ... 
Number of Discs: 2 
Recorded in: Stereo 
In Stock: Usually ships in 24 hours.  
On sale! $16.97
CD:  $14.99
In Stock

Notes and Editorial Reviews

The French musician and arranger Hughes de Courson is known for mixing classical music with other styles by adding, for example, Irish, African, or Middle Eastern elements. Here is a rare opportunity to sample his music.

Track listing:

Disc: 1
1. Al Sahm al Taéh, song
2. Sankada, song (after Bach's "Lasset uns den Nicht zerteilen")
3. Toma que Toma, song
4. Il Sonno, for ensemble & traditional Irish instruments
5. Stella Splendens, song (after a traditional Catalan melody)
6. Ya Shady Symphony, for voice & orchestra
7. Romero Santo, song
8. Kuteva, song
9. Concerto for oud & piano "No. 23"
10. Herr,
Read more unser Herrscher, song (after Bach)
11. El Vuelo, song
12. Ikhtitaf fi Assareva, song
13. O'Stravaganza, for ensemble & traditional Irish instruments
14. Loyauté, song (after Machaut)
15. Concerto for kaval & flute "Alatul"

Disc: 2
1. The Queen of the 1001 Nights, song
2. Il Duello, for ensemble & traditional Irish instruments
3. Qui n'auroit autre déport, song (after Machaut)
4. Barisokhanda, song
5. Bombé, song (after Bach's "Ruht wohl ihr heiligen Gebeine")
6. Muort'oramai, song (after Landini)
7. Al Riyah, song (after Mozart)
8. Tana Shàot Leïn, song
9. Alle, song
10. Yaman Hawa (Thomas King of Egypt), song
11. La Bigoudine, for children's chorus & barrel organ
12. Ceol Cuaine, for ensemble & traditional Irish instruments
13. Dhikr / Requiem / Golgotha, for voices, children's chorus & orchestra Read less

Works on This Recording

Cosě fan tutte, K 588: Soave sia il vento by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Period: Classical 
Written: 1790; Vienna, Austria 
Toma que toma by Hughes De Courson
Period: 20th Century 
Questo silenzio ombrosio "Il sonno" by Alessandro Scarlatti
Period: Baroque 
Written: 1707; Italy 
Llibre Vermell de Montserrat: Stella splendens by Anonymous
Period: Medieval 
Written: 14th Century; Spain 
Concerto for Oud & Piano no 23 by Hughes De Courson
Period: 20th Century 
Written: 1997 
Saint John Passion, BWV 245: no 54, Lasset uns den nicht zerteilen by Johann Sebastian Bach
Period: Baroque 
Written: 1724; Leipzig, Germany 

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review this title
Review This Title