Arkiv Music Holiday Shop

WGBH Radio WGBH Radio

Legrenzi: La Morte Del Cor Penitente / Sonatori De La Gioiosa Marca

Release Date: 01/01/2008 
Label:  Divox   Catalog #: 3795045  
Composer:  Giovanni Legrenzi
Performer:  Mario CecchettiElisabetta De MircovichRoberta InvernizziPaolo Costa,   ... 
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Sonatori de la Gioiosa Marca
Number of Discs: 1 
Recorded in: Stereo 
Back Order: Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks.  

Notes and Editorial Reviews

Giovanni Maria Legrenzi (1626-1690), composer and choirmaster of San Marco in Venice, was praised by his contemporaries as a ?true source of music and living oracle of harmony?. Daring to disregard the laws of composition in favor of ?grace and charm?, he composed operas and oratorios in addition to his instrumental works. Of the eight known Legrenzi oratorios only three complete works have been preserved. ?La Morte del cor penitente? was probably written in 1671 for the Venetian church ?Santa Maria della Consolazione? where Legrenzi was choirmaster from the year 1670 to 1690.

In the period of the Counter Reformation, a highly explosive theme was described: that of the spiritual path of the sinner, who through repentance can
Read more redress his missdeeds against God and attempt to regain his damaged honor. The annonymous author of the text conjures the image of this inner journey in many poetic pictures, and Legrenzi translates the theme to a succession of affected Arias, Duets and Recitatives in a powerful and melodic design.


1. Sinfonia 1:55
2. Peccatore: «Lumi, dolenti lumi» (Recitativo) 2:28
3. Peccatore: «Sommergete dell' Alma» (Aria) 1:02
4. Peccatore: «Care amate pupille» (Aria) 4:03
5. Peccatore: «E pur non piangi, o core?» (Aria) 2:51
6. Penitenza: «Pianga, si si» (Recitativo) 2:47
7. Peccatore: «Clementissimo Cielo» (Arioso) 2:58
8. Peccatore: «Dillo tu» (Aria) 2:57
9. Penitenza: «Deh senti» (Aria) 0:59
10. Peccatore: «Piacer ti rifiuto» (Aria) 0:47
11. Penitenza: «Su spiriti pentiti» (Aria) 1:11
12. Peccatore: «Non si pensi» (Aria) 1:16
13. Speranza: «No no tempra il furor» (Recitativo) 2:42
14. Speranza: «Se sperar il Cor non sa» (Aria) 1:04
15. Speranza: «Se la speme» (Aria) 1:40
16. Peccatore: «Volgi pur» (Aria) 2:16
17. Peccatore: «Se del duol» (Aria) 1:09
18. Speranza: «Vanne pur senza amor» (Recitativo) 1:07
19. Penitenza: «Se dal duol» (Aria) 1:18
20. Peccatore: «Parta pur la speranza» (Recitativo) 1:26
21. Penitenza: «Or va, Figlio costante» (Recitativo) 3:59
22. Peccatore: «Non si pensi» (Aria) 1:16
23. Coro: «Porta ancor» (Madrigale) 2:09
24. Sinfonia 1:01
25. Peccatore: «Coltello di dolore» (Recitativo) 0:49
26. Peccatore: «Care pene, dolci affanni» (Aria) 5:04
27. Coro de Pene: «Siam piu pronte» 1:31
28. Una delle Pene: «Su su si mandino» (Aria) 0:48
29. Coro delle Pene: «Si si dal dolore» 0:29
30. Una delle Pene: «Su su si destino» 0:57
31. Una delle Pene: «Non piu s' accendano» (Aria) 1:13
32. Coro delle Pene: «Si si dal dolore» 0:29
33. Peccatore: «Gia gia da un improviso» (Recitativo) 1:37
34. Terzetto: «Venite Alme dolenti» 3:35
35. A tre: «Cara morte» (Aria) 1:50
36. Tutti: «Hor non ti vantar piu» (Coro) 1:43
Read less

Works on This Recording

La morte del cor penitente by Giovanni Legrenzi
Performer:  Mario Cecchetti (Tenor), Elisabetta De Mircovich (Soprano), Roberta Invernizzi (Soprano),
Paolo Costa (Countertenor), Marco Beasley (Tenor), Sergio Foresti (Bass)
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Sonatori de la Gioiosa Marca
Period: Baroque 

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review this title
Review This Title
Review This Title Share on Facebook