WGBH Radio WGBH Radio theclassicalstation.org

Soul Of Kantele / Sinikka & Matti Kontio

Release Date: 12/16/2008 
Label:  Ondine   Catalog #: 933  
Composer:  Various
Performer:  Matti KontioSinikka Kontio
Number of Discs: 1 
Recorded in: Stereo 
This title is currently unavailable.

This CD is reissued by ArkivMusic.

Notes and Editorial Reviews

The kantele is a traditional plucked instrument from Finland with a unique sound somewhat akin to a dulcimer or zither. Soloists Sinikka and Matti Kontio perform a variety of Finish themes in this colorful album.

1. Koitere, Karjalan helmi - Koitere, The Pearl of Karelia 2:50
2. Karjalan poikia - Karelia Boys 2:11
3. Annin valssi - Anni’s Waltz 2:40
4. Ol’ kaunis kesäilta - It Was a Beautiful Summer Night 3:18
5. Polska 125 2:55
6. Oi, jos nukkua saisin - Oh, If Only Sleep Would Come 2:17
7. Paronin paras polkka - The Baron’s Best Polka 2:33
8. Maan korvessa kulkevi - The Guardian Angel 3:02
9. Lohi-Marjatan valssi - Salmon-Marjatta’s Walz 2:21
10. Porilaisten
Read more marssi - March of the Pori Regiment 3:56
11. Hiskin Jenkka - Hiski’s Schottische 1:51
12. Lännen valssi - Waltz of the West 2:35
13. Waiwainen walitan waikiast’ - In My Wretchedness I Complain 4:13
14. Vanhan kartanon kehräävä rukki - The Spinning Wheel of the Old Manor 2:43
15. Brisatka 5:47
16. Kissalan tytöt - Kissala Ladies 2:48
17. Merimiehen jenkka - The Seaman’s Schottisch 3:03
18. Sotamarsalkka Mannerheimin marssi - March of Field Marshal Mannerheim 3:09
19. Koitere, Karjalan helmi - Koitere, The Pearl of Karelia 1:38

[ 56:55 ]

Sinikka Kontio (Järvinen), kantele
Matti Kontio, kantele

Read less

Works on This Recording

Work(s) by Various
Performer:  Matti Kontio (Kantele), Sinikka Kontio (Kantele)

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review:  1 Customer Review )
 Cheer From Finland! February 12, 2015 By bess holloway (Boulder, CO) See All My Reviews "Listening to this music, your foot automatically begins to keep time. After hearing much Finnish orchestral music, I was curious about earlier, traditional instruments. These two artists bring alive the intriguing past, nicely preserved here for future listeners. The tunes are sure to lift your spirits!" Report Abuse
Review This Title