WGBH Radio WGBH Radio theclassicalstation.org

O. Straus: A Waltz Dream Highlights / Collins

Release Date: 03/14/2006 
Label:  Emi Classics   Catalog #: 35990   Spars Code: ADD 
Composer:  Oscar StrausJohann Strauss Jr.
Performer:  June BronhillMarion GrimaldiDavid HughesElizabeth Osborne,   ... 
Conductor:  Michael Collins
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Rita Williams SingersMichael Collins Orchestra
Number of Discs: 1 
Recorded in: Stereo 
Length:  1 Hours 18 Mins. 

Special Order: This CD requires additional production time and ships within 2-3 business days.  

This CD is reissued by ArkivMusic.

Notes and Editorial Reviews

A Waltz Dream (highlights) (Operetta in three acts · German book & lyrics by Felix Dörmann & Leopold Jacobson · English lyrics by Adrian Ross)

1. Overture (orchestra)

Act I
2. Oh, happiness stupendous (The Court`s at hand) (chorus)
3. I don`t care (Your speeches have been very long) (Niki)
4. A love of my own (The wedding day is ended) (Helene, Frederica)
5. The Waltz Dream (I walked in the blossoming garden) (Niki, Montschi)
6. Finale (You are alone) (Helene, Niki)

Act II
7. That`s the life for me (Marching maidens, on we go) (Franzi, chorus)
8. My dear little maiden (Come hither, my dear little maiden) (Niki,
Read more Franzi)
9. The Ladies` Band (If you`d name us, we are famous) (chorus)
10. Temperament (Will you tell me what I have wondered?) (Helene, Frederica, Franzi)
11. Piccolo! Piccolo! (A violin who`d lost her beau) (Franzi, chorus)

12. Hush it up! (Have you heard about the scandal?) (chorus)
13. Finale (Like an enthralling magic it seems) (Franzi, Niki, company)

Waltzes from Vienna (highlights) (Play with songs in two acts by A. M. Willner, Heinz Reichert & Ernst Marischka · English lyrics by Desmond Carter)

14. Overture (orchestra)

Act I
15. Morning (Resi, chorus)
16. Look before you leap (Though I confess) (Resi, Leopold)
17. You are my songs (Need you ask how songs are made?) (Strauss, Resi, chorus)
18. Love will find you (When you`re young and fancy-free) (Strauss, Resi)
19. Like a star in the sky (Strauss, Countess)
20. With all my heart (Resi, chorus)

Act II
21. Love`s never lost (Fate is unkind) (Leopold, Countess)
22. One Hour (Days go by) (Strauss)
23. For we love you still (Man has a notion) (Countess)
24. Love and War (Leopold, chorus)
25. Finale: Danube so blue (Resi, chorus)
Read less

Works on This Recording

Ein Walzertraum: Excerpt(s) by Oscar Straus
Performer:  June Bronhill (Soprano), Marion Grimaldi (Singer), David Hughes (Tenor),
Elizabeth Osborne (Singer)
Conductor:  Michael Collins
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Rita Williams Singers,  Michael Collins Orchestra
Period: 20th Century 
Written: 1907; Austria 
Date of Recording: 1960 
Language: English 
Walzer aus Wien: Excerpt(s) by Johann Strauss Jr.
Performer:  Kevin Scott (Singer), June Bronhill (Soprano), John Lawrenson (Baritone),
Marion Lowe (Soprano)
Conductor:  Michael Collins
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Rita Williams Singers,  Michael Collins Orchestra
Period: Romantic 
Date of Recording: 1959 
Language: English 
Notes: This work is a musical that uses the melodies of Johann Straus Jr., Johann Strauss Sr., and Josef Strauss, with words by A. M. Willner, Heinz Reichert, and Ernst Marischka (English lyrics by Desmond Carter), and arrangements by Erich Korngold, Julius Bittner, G. H. Clutsam, and Herbert Griffiths. It was premiered in October 1930. 

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review this title
Review This Title