WGBH Radio WGBH Radio theclassicalstation.org

Clutsam: Lilac Time Highlights; Forrest: Song Of Norway Highlights

Release Date: 03/14/2006 
Label:  Emi Classics   Catalog #: 35989   Spars Code: ADD 
Composer:  George H. ClutsamGeorge Forrest
Performer:  Kenneth TudorThomas RoundElizabeth OsborneBarry Kent,   ... 
Conductor:  Michael Collins
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Michael Collins OrchestraRita Williams Singers
Number of Discs: 1 
Recorded in: Stereo 
Length:  1 Hours 20 Mins. 

Special Order: This CD requires additional production time and ships within 2-3 business days.  

This CD is reissued by ArkivMusic.

Notes and Editorial Reviews

Lilac Time (highlights) (Play with songs in three acts · German book & lyrics by A. M. Willner & Heinz Reichert · English adaptation & lyrics by Adrian Ross · Schubert`s music selected & arranged by Heinrich Berté & G. H. Clutsam)

Act I

Disc 1
1 - Introduction (orchestra) - Just a little ring (Tilli and Willi and Lili Veit) (Lili, Tilli, Willi)
2 - Four jolly brothers (We`re three jolly, jolly brothers) (Schober, Vogl, Schwind, Kappel)
3 - Hark, hark! the lark (Schubert, Schober, Vogl, Schwind, Kappel)
4 - Under the lilac bough (Schubert, Schober, Vogl, Schwind, Kappel)
5 - The Golden Song (I`m excited, so delighted) (Lili,
Read more Schubert)
6 - Finale (I ask the spring, blossom-laden) (all)

Act II
7 - Serenade (I am singing) (Schober)
8 - Vision Song: Dream Enthralling (Voices come thronging) (Schubert)
9 - Sextet (When skies are blue) (Lili, Tilli, Willi, Schober*, Binder, Braun)
10 - The Flower (Dear flower, small and wise) (Lili, Schubert)
11 - Finale (I want to carve your name on ev`ry tree) (Schober, Lili, Schubert)

12 - My sweetest song of all (In my heart the whole day long) (Schubert)
13 - When the lilac bloom uncloses (Schober, Lili)

Song of Norway (highlights) (Operetta in two acts · Book by Milton Lazarus after Homer Curran · Lyrics by Robert Wright & George Forrest · Grieg`s music adapted by Robert Wright & George Forrest)

Act I
14 - The Legend (Once, long ago) (Rikard, chorus)
15 - Hill of Dreams (Oh, I was the beautiful princess) (Nina, Edvard, Rikard)
16 - Freddy and his Fiddle (I can`t dance, you can`t dance) (Freddy, chorus)
17 - Now (Who`s to deny whatever my whim is) (Louisa, chorus)
18 - Strange Music (The summer winds are sighing) (Nina, Edvard)
19 - Midsummer`s Eve (My song is a song of summertime) (Rikard, Louisa)
20 - Finale (Now! Now!) (Louisa, Edvard, Nina, Rikard)

Act II
21 - Three Loves (Have you a moment free, monsieur?) (Louisa, Edvard)
22 - Rikard`s Farewell (As from a dream) (Rikard) - I Love You (I hear you ask) (Nina)
Read less

Works on This Recording

Lilac Time: Excerpt(s) by George H. Clutsam
Performer:  Kenneth Tudor (Singer), Thomas Round (Tenor), Elizabeth Osborne (Singer),
Barry Kent (Singer), Marion Grimaldi (Singer), John Cameron (Baritone),
June Bronhill (Soprano), Eric Wilson-Hyde (Singer)
Conductor:  Michael Collins
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Michael Collins Orchestra,  Rita Williams Singers
Date of Recording: 1958-1959 
Song of Norway: Excerpt(s) by George Forrest
Performer:  Geoffrey Webb (Singer), Victoria Elliott (Singer), Norma Hughes (Singer),
John Lawrenson (Baritone), Barry Kent (Singer), Thomas Round (Tenor)
Conductor:  Michael Collins
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Michael Collins Orchestra,  Rita Williams Singers
Period: 20th Century 
Written: 1944; USA 
Date of Recording: 08/1959 

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review this title
Review This Title