WGBH Radio WGBH Radio theclassicalstation.org

Mock Mozart

Release Date: 09/19/2006 
Label:  Living Era   Catalog #: 5649   Spars Code: n/a 
Composer:  Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Performer:  Victor BorgeAnton KarasYvonne PrintempsNelson Eddy,   ... 
Conductor:  Annuncio Paolo Mantovani
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Comedian HarmonistsNew Friends of Rhythm
Number of Discs: 1 
Recorded in: Stereo 
Length: 1 Hours 16 Mins. 

Imported from : England   
Back Order: Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks.  

Notes and Editorial Reviews

It will not have escaped the attention of anyone remotely interested in music that 2006 is Mozart year; he was born in Salzburg 250 years ago. Recordings of his sublime music have of course been legion – but we can safely say that none compares with Living Era’s tribute, Mock Mozart. It is described as a “diverting collection of parodies, take-offs, send-ups, performances in good and bad taste, mixed with genuine tributes”.

The title and tone are set by Peter Ustinov’s extraordinary array of voices and noises, Mock Mozart, and continued by Victor Borge’s perennially hilarious Mozart Opera. Adaptations range from Raymond Scott’s lively In An 18th-Century Drawing Room to no fewer than four interpretations of Rondo alla turca
Read more (by Red Ingle, Henri René, Hazel Scott and Martha Eggerth & Jan Kiepura). Alec Templeton and Benny Goodman show us how Mozart Matriculates, and the wonderful Florence Foster Jenkins brings new meaning to the term ‘off-key’. What would Mozart have made of it all? He would surely have relished the Comedy Harmonists’ tender singing of “Mozart’s Lullaby” (oh, except that was written by somebody else!)

* 1/1. ‘IN AN EIGHTEENTH-CENTURY DRAWING ROOM’ – Raymond Scott & his Quintet
* 1/2. ‘MOCK MOZART’ – The voices & noises of Peter Ustinov; Antony Hopkins - harpsichord
* 1/3. ‘TURKISH MARCH’ – Hazel Scott
* 1/4. ‘TURKISH MARCH’ –
* 1/5. ‘MINUET’ – Mantovani & his Orchestra
* 1/6. ‘SE VUOL BALLARE’ – Nelson Eddy - baritone; Robert Armbruster & orchestra
* 1/7. ‘BARBER’S HITCH’ – The New Friends Of Rhythm: Laura Newell – harp; Sylvan Shulman, Zelly Smirnoff – violins; Louis Kievman – viola; Alan Shulman – cello; Tony Colucci – guitar; Harry Patent – double-bass
* 1/8. ‘THE BLACKSMITH’ – Reinald Werrenrath – baritone; with orchestra
* 1/9. ‘MOZART MATRICULATES’ – Alec Templeton
* 1/10. ‘MOZART MATRICULATES’ – Benny Goodman - clarinet, & his Orchestra: Ziggy Elman, Jimmy Maxwell, Johnny Martell - trumpets; Red Ballard, Vernon Brown, Ted Vesely - trombones; Toots Mondello, Buff Estes - alto saxophones; Jerry Jerome, Bus Bassey - tenor saxophones; Fletcher Hender
* 1/11. ‘QUEEN OF THE NIGHT ARIA’ – Florence Foster Jenkins & Cosme McMoon
* 1/13. ‘ALLELUJA’ – Deanna Durbin - soprano; Charles Previn & orchestra
* 1/14. ‘MENUETTO’ – Albert Sandler & his Orchestra
* 1/15. ‘LEPORELLO’S CATALOGUE ARIA: Madamina, il catalogo’ – Dennis King, Ezio Pinza, Alfred Wallenstein & The RCA Victor Symphony Orchestra
* 1/16. ‘ALLEGRO’ – Yoichi Hiraoka & Vladimir Brenner
* 1/17. ‘AIR DE LA LETTRE: Depuis ton depart, mon amant’ – Yvonne Printemps
* 1/18. ‘TURKISH DELIGHT’ – Henri René & his Musette Orchestra
* 1/19. ‘CORALINE’S VARIATIONS on Mozart’s Ah, vous dirai-je, maman (Ach, Mama, ich sag’ es Dir)’ – Miliza Korjus, Berlin Radio Orchestra & Johannes Muller
* 1/20. ‘THE CAFÉ MOZART WALTZ’ – Anton Karas
* 1/21. ‘A MOZART OPERA BY BORGE’ – Victor Borge
* 1/22. ‘MOE ZART’S TURKEY TROT’ – Red Ingle & his Natural Seven, Frank “The Terrible Turk” Leithner – ‘Town House’ piano
* 1/23. ‘WIEGENLIED (“Mozart’s Lullaby”: Schlafe, mein Prinzchen)’ – The Comedy Harmonists
Read less

Works on This Recording

Work(s) by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Performer:  Victor Borge (Piano), Anton Karas (Zither), Yvonne Printemps (Soprano),
Nelson Eddy (Baritone), Hazel Scott (Voice), Raymond Scott (),
Peter Ustinov (Spoken Vocals), Florence Foster Jenkins (Soprano)
Conductor:  Annuncio Paolo Mantovani
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Comedian Harmonists,  New Friends of Rhythm
Period: Classical 

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review this title
Review This Title
Review This Title Share on Facebook

Sign up now for two weeks of free access to the world's best classical music collection. Keep listening for only $19.95/month - thousands of classical albums for the price of one! Learn more about ArkivMusic Streaming
Already a subscriber? Sign In