WGBH Radio WGBH Radio theclassicalstation.org

Codex Calixtinus: Missa Sancti Jacobi / Groupo De Musica Alfonso X, El Sabio

El Sabio,Alfonso X
Release Date: 03/26/2013 
Label:  Sony   Catalog #: 5408322   Spars Code: DDD 
Composer:  Anonymous
Conductor:  Luis Lozano Virumbrales
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Groupo De Musica Alfonso X El Sabio
Number of Discs: 1 
Recorded in: Stereo 
Low Stock: Currently 3 or fewer in stock. Usually ships in 24 hours, unless stock becomes depleted.  

Notes and Editorial Reviews

The Codex Calixtinus called in German Jakob book is a collection of manuscripts from the 12th Century. Originally it was believed that Pope Calixtus II had gathered this, hence his name. However, contrary to the recent investigations of the Codex Jakob book, wherein Pope Calixtus II is listed within a 5-part work along with the Apostle James in Santiago de Compostela. Among other things, of miracle cures told by James and a pilgrim's guide gives the pilgrims advice for his journey to Santiago de Compostela.

Specificity and significance of the Codex Calixtinus builds on the two-, sometimes three-part church hymns to be sung on feast days of St. James. Here, apparently for the first time, is polyphonic music for liturgical
Read more purposes rather than a model for the art the composing. In this music, a distinct French influence is felt. This is due to the significant musical developments from 1165 to 1180 at the newly built Cathedral of Notre Dame in Paris.

This recording of Codex Calixtinus by the ensemble Alfonso X El Sabio is the first complete recording of the contained liturgical songs. The ensemble, led by Luis Lozano Virumbrales is among critics and musicologists alike seen as the best Spanish ensemble for sacred music. You will appreciate its faithful interpretations and scholarly discussion of medieval church music and chants. Sony (Translated from German.)


01. Versus Calixti Pape Cantandi Ad Processionem Sti. Jacobi 02:54
02. Introit. Farsa oficii Mise Sancte Jacobi a domno Fulbertus Episcopo Kartonensi composita 15:44
03. kyrie. Rex inmense 01:20
04. Gloria. Versus Fulberti Episcopi Karnotensi de Sancto Iacobo 05:44
05. Collecta 01:13
06. Farsa lectionis de Missa Sti. Jacobi, edita a domno Fulbertus Karnotensi Episcopo 09:43
07. Gradual, responsory O Adiutor, prose Portum in ultimo 05:35
08. Alleluia, Sanctissime Apostole, Calixtus 02:26
09. Gospel (*) 3:04
10. Offertory Congaudeant Catholici, Magister Albertus Parisiensis 02:52
11. Praefatium, (*) Sanctus Hossanna salvifica 07:36
12. Agnus Fulberti episcopi Karnotensis 02:03
13. Communio ego vos elegi 00:38
14. Postcommunio (*) 1:00
15. Benedicamus Sancti Jacobi, a Magistro Anselmo editum 02:41
16. Conductum Master John Legalis 01:46
Read less

Works on This Recording

Codex Calixtinus by Anonymous
Conductor:  Luis Lozano Virumbrales
Orchestra/Ensemble:  Groupo De Musica Alfonso X El Sabio
Period: Medieval 
Written: 12th Century; Spain 

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review this title
Review This Title
Review This Title Share on Facebook

Sign up now for two weeks of free access to the world's best classical music collection. Keep listening for only $19.95/month - thousands of classical albums for the price of one! Learn more about ArkivMusic Streaming
Aleady a subscriber? Sign In